

## 23 February 2022

## NZTR COMPENSATION GUIDE (Updated to take effect from 1 March 2022)

NZTR recognises that industry participants experience financial losses whenever races or race meetings are abandoned. These losses arise for several different reasons and vary greatly depending on the individual circumstances.

NZTR has updated its previous Compensation guide regarding ex-gratia payments to all owners and jockeys who are directly affected by an abandonment, to compensate for the losses. The compensation is not related to any particular expense but because travel is a significant part of the cost, the amount is increased where horses have travelled greater distances.

For the purposes of the compensation payment, New Zealand is divided into 4 Racing Regions. These are:

- **Northern Racing Region** Includes: Northland Region, Auckland Region, Waikato Region, Bay of Plenty Region and Gisborne region.
- **Central Racing Region** Includes: Taranaki Region, Manawatu-Wanganui Region, Hawke's Bay Region and Wellington Region.
- **Upper South Island Racing Region** Includes: Tasman Region, Nelson Region, Marlborough Region, West Coast Region and Canterbury Region.
- Lower South Island Racing Region Otago Region and Southland Region.

Compensation is paid as follows:

## Owners:

Where a horse has travelled within the Racing Region.	\$300
Where a horse has travelled from a Racing Region to any other Racing Region.	\$500

## Jockeys:

Where a Jockey is not able to fulfil any riding engagements due to the abandonment.	\$300
Where a Jockey has ridden in 1 race on the day but was unable to fulfil further engagements due to the abandonment.	\$200
Where a Jockey has travelled from one Racing Region to any other Racing Region.	\$200, in addition to the amount paid as above.
Where a Jockey was able to fulfil 2 or more riding engagements before the meeting was abandoned no compensation is paid.	

The above comes into effect from 1 March, however it is backdated to cover those impacted by the abandonment of the following meetings:

- WRC 4 December 2021
- Taranaki 5 February 2021 & 18 February 2021
- Matamata 26 January 2021
- Tauranga 6 February 2022

Payments will follow to those eligible over the next two weeks.