<< Back
25 Feb 2014


With the yearling sales over, I have a quite a few people based in NZ enquiring about stablehand work and also a number say they can ride trackwork.

Below is a list with where they want to be located and a quote from them where possible. Please contact me if you are an NZTA member and require more details –


Maddy – Auckland/Waikato CV available

I have been riding for ten or so years, have competed and owned my own horses. I Have recently completed a level 3 cert' in equine at Telford in the South Island. I have also done a yearling prep and a season on the broodmare team at top stud in Karaka.  Would relocate if grazing available for her horse


Kayla – Franklin

Looking for stablehand work – CV available


Diana – Auckland CV available

Keen to become an apprentice. I am a strong, athletic female, 22 years old, and weigh 51.5kg and am 5 foot. Have experience in a range of different sports.


Katharine and Christie  -the North Waikato/ Franklin/ Auckland area

Responded to stablehand/trackwork rider ad – still to receive CV’s. 


Jessica – Waikato

 I am currently looking for work in the Matamata/Cambridge area, but am willing to relocate if necessary. My primary experience comes from yearling preparation as well as some occasional broodmare work. I am seeking a position that will offer me accommodation as I am international. My riding experience is predominantly western - games and trekking.


Mavis - Waikato

Looking for full time work - experienced lightweight rider capable of fast work, jumpouts etc. Matamata/Cambridge - accomodation be an added bonus but not essential.


Nerallee – Waikato/Taranaki

I have been riding all my life. I am now 18. And no, no trackwork expierence. I have gone and helped out a couple times but that was only hosing the horses off. I was hoping for more of a stablehand job??



looking for riding/stable job/forman plenty off experience here and overseas

Rachelle Anderson

Looking for track or stable work anywhere considered


Teri – Palmerston North

I am looking for part time hours in and around Palmerston North. I have worked for Lisa latta for about 8 months and Karen Zimmerman while I was at school few years ago now. I am a mum now so a few part times would be fantastic


Emily – Palmerston North

I am looking for a trackwork rider and stablehand position in or close to palmerston north to start in march I've worked in the racing industry in australia since 2006 as a stablehand/ strapper and started riding trackwork last year and I love it


Irene – Manawatu

I was wondering if you know of any trainer in the Manawatu (Palmerston North) area looking for ground staff?


Harriet – Manawatu CV available

I was wondering if you knew of any stablehand/track rider positions in palmerston north or around the area


Sarah – Palmerston North

Im 56.5kg, 5'3 light seat light hands confident and capable rider, have ridden some track work at a  home track, and also galloped on the beach on racehorses.  Im used to green horses and ponies. I've spent the last year training and riding endurance horses’


Paige – Palmerston North

Previous racing stable experience in Waikato – has stablehand licence and can ride a bit


Donella – Horowhenua

Looking for work as stablehand.


Tanya – Hawkes Bay

Stablehand/trackwork rider


Tammy – Hawkes Bay

Stablehand work – had previous experience.



Charlotte – Otaki

CV available – very experienced trackwork rider, stablehand and foreman


Rebecca – Otaki

I am considering moving closer to family in paraparam and very interested in what work might be available in otaki etc very experienced , I have a current trackwork - stable hand licence


Jemma & Charlotte – Otaki

I can try and get more details from these two if there are any vacancies..


Sinead – Wellington

if there is any stablehand jobs or anything similar in the Wellington region?


Jennie – Nelson

Keen to work in racing stables


Kelly – looking in Canterbury area CV available

In the UK I have spent most of my working career breaking and schooling hunters and have done some track work incl riding, lunging, free schooling, swimming, stable hand duties, helping at race meets etc. I also have relevant qualifications. I am based near Christchurch and have been here for 9 months now. I have my work visa..